Key Stage 2

Key Stage 2 is the term for the four years of schooling in England, normally known as Year 3, Year 4, Year 5 and Year 6. All the children in this stage must follow a programme of education in the same areas set out on the English National Curriculum.

Our Key Stage 2 curriculum aims to provide a stimulating, happy, friendly environment; to allow organised, structured, and secure learning; to build self-confidence and increase respect of self, others and the environment; to develop children’s natural curiosity an foster a desire to learn; to provide activities that allow skills to be practised a knowledge to be acquired; to create an celebrate success; for children to be self-reliant and self-disciplined; for children to co-operate and form relationships, laying the foundations for success in adult life.

Key Stage 2 tasks and tests cover:

  • English reading
  • English grammar, punctuation and spelling
  • Maths (including mental arithmetic)

As children progress through Key Stage 2, we ensure that the standards achieved by our year 6 students prepare them for the best possible transfer to our Senior School, starting in Year 7.